Effective January 1, 2018, the State of Utah removed the safety inspection requirement for most vehicles as a prerequisite for registration. Vehicles that require a safety inspection are listed below.
- Salvage vehicles that have been rebuilt and are requesting a rebuilt title.
- First time street legal ATV registrations. This includes ownership transfers for previously registered street legal ATVs.
- Commercial vehicles are required to obtain a safety inspection for display and presenting to law enforcement, but it is not a prerequisite for registration.
Quality Tire Company offers gas and diesel emission testing for Salt Lake County and Utah County by appointment.
To schedule your appointment, please call the number for your county: For Salt Lake County, you can book on-line using the links above.
Salt Lake County 801-972-1944 - Testing location is 1335 West 2100 South, Salt Lake City, Utah
Utah County 801-224-0206 - Testing location is 182 North 1330 West, Orem, Utah
For maps to our testing locations, please click HERE
What are the Utah emission testing requirements:
All vehicles registered in Davis, Salt Lake, Utah and Weber counties with model years less than six years old are required to have an emission test once every two years. Vehicles in this category that have even-numbered model years must have an emission test in even-numbered years, and vehicles that have odd-numbered model years must have an emission test in odd-numbered years. Vehicles less than two years old, based upon the model year, are exempt from the requirement to obtain an emissions inspection. Emissions tests are not required for diesel vehicles registered in Utah county.
Vehicles with model years six years old and older (to 1967) must have an emission test every year. Emission certificates are not required for vehicles with model years 1967 or older.
2018 Emission Inspection Requirements
Vehicle Model Year - Emission Inspection
2018 - Not required
2017 - Not required
2016 - Required in 2018
2015 - Not required
2014 - Required in 2018
2013 - Not required
2012 to 1968 - Required in 2018
1967 and older - Not required
All vehicles registered in Cache County with model years six years old and greater that have even-numbered model years, must have an emission test in even number years, and vehicles with odd-numbered model years must have an emission test in odd-numbered years. Vehicles with model years 1968 or older do not require an emission test.
2018 Cache County Emission Inspection Requirements
Vehicle Model Year - Emission Inspection
2018 – 2013 - Not required
2012 – 1969 - Biennial
1968 and older - Not required
An emission inspection may be made no more than two months prior to the renewal of the registration. The emission certificate must be submitted to the appropriate Motor Vehicle office as a condition of registration.
Fees that may be charged by approved inspection stations for the emission inspection are not to exceed:
Emission Inspection Fees* Paid to Station
County Maximum Inspection Fee*
Cache - $20
Davis - No limit is set as the fees are self regulated
Salt Lake - No limit is set as the fees are self regulated
Utah - No limit is set as the fees are self regulated
Weber - $30
Exempt from this requirement are:
- New vehicles,
- Motorcycles, and
- Vehicles with a model year of 1967 and older.
In addition to the inspection fee paid to the station, the following counties impose fees for emission programs. Payment of fees is required at the time of registration. Fees are due regardless if a certificate is required or not. The fees are as follows:
Emission Program Fees Paid to County
CountyAll including diesel
Salt Lake $3
For more information about emissions test requirements contact the appropriate County Health Department below:
Vehicles Sold by Dealers in Non-Emission Counties to Emission-County Residents
Utah law requires all licensed Utah dealers to assure vehicles they sell to residents of Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Utah, or Weber counties meet emission testing requirements prior to issuing a temporary permit. However, because emission testing facilities are often not available in counties where emission testing is not required, the air quality administrators from the five emission-required counties have granted a limited emission test exemption.
If a vehicle is sold to a resident of Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Utah, or Weber counties by a licensed Utah dealer whose place of business is located in a non-emission county, the dealer must:
- Issue a temporary permit,
- Provide the customer with a copy of Form TC-820, Exemption Affidavit for Utah Emission Testing.
The purchaser must:
- Obtain an emission test certificate of compliance within 10 days of return to county of residence;
- Provide a copy of Form TC-820, Exemption Affidavit for Utah Emission Testing to the local motor vehicle office with the application for plate, title and registration, and,
- Send certificate of compliance and a copy of the TC-820 to the local Department of Health.
Vehicle/Hull Identification Number (VIN/HIN) Inspections
Inspections of identification numbers are required for all vehicles or vessels to be titled in Utah for the first time, unless the vehicle is new (MSO) and was acquired from an in-state dealer or in-state manufacturer. Safety inspection certificates are acceptable means of verification for your cars, trucks, and motorcycles providing that the VIN number is accurate on the safety inspection certificate.